Post-Trash Facebook Post-Trash Twitter

Missing Earth - "Parliament of Trees" | Post-Trash Premiere


by Tim Crisp (@betteryetpod)

Kyle Gilbride is a gift that keeps giving in 2018. He started the year by playing shows with the re-united Swearin’, opening for Superchunk in April. The band dropped their first LP in five years in October, the cathartic Fall into the Sun. Now, Kyle is set to unleash a new project on the world. That project is called Missing Earth, and Post-Trash is pleased to premiere “Parliament of Trees,” the first single from the band’s debut LP, Gold, Flour, Salt which is set for release on November 16th on Salinas.

“Parliament of Trees” certainly has a feel familiar to what we’ve come to expect from Gilbride—a little off-kilter, but very hooky. Whereas Gilbride’s Swearin’ contributions lean into a Malkmus-influenced crunch, the songs that make up Gold, Flour, Salt owe as much to The Notorious Byrd Brothers as they do Slanted & Enchanted. “Parliament of Trees” meets somewhere in the middle, with a groove and lackadaisical vocal line reminiscent of mid-90’s Slumberland. The track features Swearin’ drummer Jeff Bolt and a backing vocal from Maryn Jones, but the rest can be credited to Gilbride who has been piecing together Gold, Flour, Salt since 2015.

Missing Earth’s Gold, Flour, Salt is out November 16th via Salinas Records.